top of page

Huddersfield Railway Station

Updated: May 10, 2020

An interesting building that has impacted my own practice as a designer is Huddersfield Railway Station. Situated in St. Georges square, the railway station is well known for its neo-classical façade and ornate Corinthian columns. Referencing this station throughout multiple design briefs, it has had immense impact on my research and design methods.

After being drawn in by its distinct architectural elements, I initially used the station for the Flush project wherein I discovered my interest in this building. Learning that although the architecture of the building reflects a very different time period than the one that we currently live in, I believe that the station also reflects a very important time in not only Huddersfield’s heritage but the heritage of England itself. This project enabled me to recognise that even though a style may not still be prevalent in modern day times it can still be recognised as an important and aesthetically pleasing building. This enabled me to think more abstract about design, thinking of ways that styles can be mixed and changed creating juxtaposition between something both obscure and cohesive. 

Following on from the flush project I continued to research the station, learning its great importance to previous generations throughout the war.The station aided war time casualties throughout their arrivals and departures and twelve highly targeted ambulance trains, this shows the importance of the building being penultimate to the safety of the people that lived in Huddersfield at the time. This led me to appreciate the importance of buildings, particularly how people conform to the intended use of a building and how greatly this effects people’s daily lives. From this I realised that the design of a building in regard to its use are drastically important to the practicality of the building and its functionality day to day.Although in modern day times the train station doesn’t have such an intense use it is still a very viable example of a building that is depended on and the importance of its design. That it is still used by people consistently, shows that it is a cleverly designed building. This led me to think more about the journey that a consumer may have around my designs factoring in the schedules of the audience, their needs and expectations regarding how they can most efficiently and happily move around the space.

                 When designing a space for Choc Affair, the train station, I found to be prevalent again. Sporting similar architectural features as the station, such as the dramatic use ofCorinthian columns with ornate design features, 60 New Street is a prime example of the importance of local buildings in relation to a towns image and reputation. This made me think about how important an areas appearance is, as Huddersfield is known for its industrial heritage and the stations hand in the building of trade avenues of the town it would seem ignorant to the site to not incorporate toned down industrial elements into the design. By appreciating the architecture of the area and the local history of the building it enables the design to fit well into its home and creates a cohesive and site sensitive design.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Self Reflection

Upon reflecting upon my development throughout the year I have realisied that I have benefitted greatly from undertaking the projects set. I believe that I came into the year very unconfident in multi

Exhibition

On the 28th October 2019 I visited Manchester to go to the Peoples History museum and the Museum of Science and Industry to further my research regarding spatial experience regarding exhibitions. Firs

bottom of page